Friday, May 20, 2011

Various Artists - In The Bleak Wilderness Of Sleep

1. Michael Trommer - Pushing Through Gray
2. Simon Whetham - Cold Shoulder (Part 1.2)
3. D'Incise - Octobre-Septembre
4. James McDougall - Scarborough
5. Specta Ciera - Under Cool Air
6. Deep Into Perspectives - Home
7. Francisco Lopez - Untitled #264
8. Spheruleus - Overcast
9. Small Things On Sundays - Harbour
10. Philip Sulidae - Aher
11. Natalia Noelia Siebuła & Bartosz Dziadosz - Ótta og kvíða
12. Julien Demoulin - Dull Ache
On the 17th of May 2011, Audio Gourmet is precisely a year old. To celebrate this, we have been busy putting together a couple of compilation albums. One of which is 'In The Bleak Wilderness Of Sleep' available for purchase here as either a multi-format digital album or as a limited edition CDr.

The compilation features 12 tracks from some of the globe's most talented sound-designers. It is a subtly rewarding headphone listen from start to finish; curated and ordered to purposefully induce a state of sleep. Starting off minimally, gradually gathering tone and atmosphere, the experience goes on without ever boiling over or reaching a crescendo. Parts of the album are light and restful whereas traces of it tread darker territory. All in all, the imagery that the album conjurs sits perfectly as a soundtrack to the dreams one experiences during a nights sleep.

The artwork was put together by French artist Eric Lacombe (Monstror) who some may remember for his cover art collaborations for Spheruleus releases in the past. Here for 'In The Bleak Wilderness Of Sleep', his surreal imagery lends itself perfectly to this mysterious dream invoking soundtrack.

The limited edition CDr release comes housed inside a recycled card case with the cover artwork slipped inside and printed to photographic paper. Along with a CDr copy of the album itself, the tracklist will be printed to high quality salmon coloured paper/card. On the front, the album title will be rubber stamped in brown ink and on the back, the Audio Gourmet logo will be cut out by lazers. It will be hand-numbered in brown pen and limited to 200 copies.

*The first 50 copies will include a second bonus image, taken by select friends and photographers. These include:

Gerry McDermott
Harry Towell
James McDougall
Peter Nejedly
Seth Chrisman
Simon Whetham
Stuart Towell

Everyone who purchases the CD version will be entitled to a free and instant digital copy of the album. For those that wish to purchase a digital only version, this can be obtained as usual through the Audio Gourmet Bandcamp account.

No comments: